Despite the situation with COVID-19, we are working as usual and fully provide our services.
menu
phone Contact phone white arrow down
N e w s
cart

Registering a company in Cyprus: pros and cons

Not so long ago, Cyprus was considered one of the most attractive jurisdictions for foreign investors, especially citizens of the Russian Federation. In fact, a third of all incoming investments belonged to Russian investors, who liked the loyal tax system of the republic, a reliable protection of personal data, the presence of a wide network of agreements on the avoidance of double taxation and other important advantages. To register a company in Cyprus or open a corporate account for a Cyprus company was a great idea for those, who were interested in the most favorable conditions for conducting international business.

What has changed?

A crisis past

After many years of prosperity and economic stability of the state, unexpectedly for everyone, in 2012 there was a large-scale crisis in Cyprus, which virtually completely froze the banking system. Many of those, who were previously attracted by the tempting opportunity to register a company in Cyprus or open an account with a Cyprus bank were completely unsettled by this event.

Fortunately, the crisis lasted only a year, and the country managed to avoid the threat of default, however, the reputation of this jurisdiction in the eyes of potential investors was seriously undermined. In early 2013, banks resumed their work, paying a considerable price for this. In particular, they had to close the second largest bank in the country, withdraw deposits in the amount of more than 100 thousand euros and write off debts.

Cyprus has come a long way in rehabilitation, using about 10 billion euros from the IMF and the European Union, and has been able to restore a considerable share of ties with Russia. However, to date, registering a company in Cyprus still poses a number of risks.

Opening a bank account in Cyprus in 2020

As a result of active actions by the United States and the European Union, which launched a large-scale campaign to combat the financial chaos reigning in the territory of many zones in Europe and Asia, the island state is in no hurry to meet everyone, who wants to register a company in Cyprus or open a corporate account with a Cyprus bank.

Banks of Cyprus, like many other countries, are afraid of imposing sanctions and therefore prefer to refuse to cooperate with shell companies, freeze accounts of individuals and legal entities with a demand for documentary evidence of the legitimacy of cash deposits, and are extremely reluctant to open accounts for non-residents of Cyprus.

Read also:

Starting in May 2018, after the visit of the US mission, Cyprus seriously took up the verification of accounts of Russian investors, which led to their massive closure, which continues to this day. This situation led to the fact, that many entrepreneurs began to look for a way to transfer the business to another jurisdiction.

A re-registration a Cyprus company and transfer funds

In the event, that you previously registered a company in Cyprus or opened a corporate account in Cyprus, the best solution would be to re-domicile (a change of the legal address of the company), as well as transfer the available funds to more reliable banking institutions. An excellent alternative to risky doing business in Cyprus will be the registration of a company in Liechtenstein, opening a company in Hong Kong, the Czech Republic, as well as opening of accounts with banks in Singapore, Serbia, Hong Kong.

IQD Consulting lawyers will be able to competently organize the process of withdrawing funds. Our experts also will assist in choosing the most promising jurisdiction, based on the individual characteristics of your business. We will provide you with detailed advice on registering a company, provide professional legal support on opening an account with a bank in Europe or Asia, and also assist in resolving any sensitive business issues.

  • The information outlined in the article is actual at the time of its publication.
  • Please refer to our specialists for checking possible solutions for your business.
  • Still have any questions?

    Fill out the form or contact us as you find convenient. Our experts will help you resolve the issue.

Are you interested in a qualified consultation of our specialists on this issue?

Your name user
Your comment comment

Do you want to add an alternative form of communication?

tel add icon telegram add icon skype add icon whatsapp add icon viber add icon
people with bank

Top news in May

Popular news

menu
phone Контактный телефон white arrow down

Контактные телефоны

cart

Регистрация компании на Кипре: за и против

Спасибо за вашу заявку. Мы свяжемся с вами в ближайшее время

Сопровождение в регистрации компании на Кипре

Создание бизнеса на Кипре имеет ряд преимуществ, среди которых главными являются:

  • Популярная юрисдикция
  • Простота ведения бизнеса
  • Местные законы базируются на Common Law
  • Возможность свободной покупки недвижимость для нерегидентов
  • Возможность получения статуса НДС плательщика
  • Сопровождение в регистрации компании — от 3490 EUR
Подробная информация
Отправьте заявку
получить детальную информацию
*
*
Хотите добавить комментарий?

* - обязательные поля

Еще не так давно, Кипр считался одной из наиболее привлекательных юрисдикций для иностранных инвесторов, в особенности, граждан РФ. Фактически треть всех поступающих инвестиций принадлежала русским вкладчикам, которым была по душе лояльная налоговая система республики, надежная защита персональных данных, наличие широкой сети соглашений об избежании двойного налогообложения и другие немаловажные плюсы. Зарегистрировать фирму на Кипре или открыть корпоративный счет на кипрскую компанию было отличной идеей для тех, кто был заинтересован в наиболее выгодных условиях для ведения международного бизнеса.

Что же изменилось?

Кризисное прошлое

После долгих лет процветания и экономической стабильности государства, неожиданно для всех, в 2012 году на Кипре случился масштабный кризис, который фактически полностью заморозил деятельность банковской системы. Многие из тех, кого ранее привлекла заманчивая возможность зарегистрировать компанию на Кипре или же открыть счет в кипрском банке, были полностью выбиты из колеи этим событием.

К счастью, кризис продлился всего год, и стране удалось избежать угрозы дефолта, тем не менее, репутация данной юрисдикции в глазах потенциальных инвесторов была серьезно подорвана. В начале 2013 года банки возобновили свою работу, заплатив за это немалую цену. В особенности, им пришлось закрыть второй крупнейший банк страны, изъять вклады на сумму более 100 тысяч евро и списать долги.
Кипр прошел долгий путь реабилитации, задействовав около 10 млрд евро, полученных от МВФ и Евросоюза, и смог восстановить немалую долю связей с Россией. Тем не менее, на сегодняшний день, регистрация компании на Кипре, по-прежнему, представляет ряд рисков.

Читать также:

Открыть счет на компанию на Кипре 2020

В результате активных действий со стороны США и Евросоюза, развернувших масштабную кампанию по борьбе с финансовым хаосом, царящим на территории множества оффшорных зон Европы и Азии, островное государство не спешит навстречу всем желающим зарегистрировать фирму на Кипре или открыть корпоративный счет в кипрском банке.

Банки Кипра, как и многих других стран, опасаются наложения санкций и потому предпочитают отказываться от сотрудничества с shell-компаниями, замораживают счета физических и юридических лиц с требованием документального подтверждения законности денежных вкладов, а также крайне неохотно позволяют открывать счета нерезидентам.

Начиная с мая 2018 года, после состоявшегося визита представительства США, Кипр серьезно взялся за проверку счетов российских вкладчиков, что привело к их массовому закрытию, которое длится и по сей день. Подобная ситуация привела к тому, что немало предпринимателей начали искать способ переноса бизнеса в другую юрисдикцию.

Повторная регистрация кипрской компании и перевод средств

В том случае, если ранее Вами была проведена регистрация фирмы на Кипре или же был открыт корпоративный счет на Кипре, наиболее оптимальным решением станет редомициляция (смена юридического адреса компании), а также перевод имеющихся средств в более надежные банковские структуры. Прекрасной альтернативой рискованному ведению бизнеса на Кипре, станет регистрация компании в Лихтенштейне, открытие компании в Гонконге, Чехии, а также оформление счетов в банках Сингапура, Сербии, Гонконга.

Если у вас есть вопросы по данной теме, свяжитесь с сотрудниками QD Consulting. Мы предоставим вам подробную консультацию и окажем сопровождение при регистрации компании и открытии счета в банке Европы или Азии. Чтобы записаться на консультацию, заполните специальную форму ниже или посетите раздел «Контакты».

Интересует квалифицированная консультация наших специалистов по данному вопросу?

Ваше имя user
Ваш комментарий comment

Хотите добавить альтернативный вариант связи?

tel add icon telegram add icon skype add icon whatsapp add icon viber add icon
people with bank